CHRM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHRM Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No observed CHRM pass rate is publicly disclosed; any specific percentage you see quoted is unverified.
  • The published cut score is 70% on a 125-question, three-hour exam with a required proctor.
  • The issuer allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval.
  • Eligibility gates (50% revenue-management duties, six months in role) pre-screen candidates before they test.

What Is Actually Published About the CHRM Pass Rate

If you searched for the Certified Hospitality Revenue Manager pass rate, here is the direct answer: the certifying body has not publicly disclosed an observed pass rate. The CHRM is administered by AHLEI (the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute) as an AHLA-endorsed credential, and the reviewed issuer product pages do not report how many candidates pass, how many fail, or how results trend year over year.

That matters because pass-rate pages across the internet routinely fill the gap with confident-sounding numbers. For a credential this specialized, those figures are almost always guesses, recycled from unrelated certifications, or borrowed from other credentials that happen to share the same acronym. This article takes a different approach: it lays out what is verifiable, explains what the published mechanics imply about difficulty, and shows you how to judge your own readiness without a headline percentage.

A Note on Acronym Confusion: Several unrelated credentials abbreviate to "CHRM." This site covers only the Certified Hospitality Revenue Manager credential. Pass-rate, fee, and date figures attached to any other "CHRM" do not apply here, so be skeptical of any source that does not name the certifying body (AHLEI) and the revenue-management focus.

If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, our explainers on what CHRM certification is and what CHRM stands for cover the basics before you dig into exam statistics.

The Numbers That Are Published: Format, Time, and Cut Score

While the pass rate is undisclosed, the exam's structural parameters are published by the issuer. These are the hard facts you can plan around:

Exam ParameterPublished Detail
Question count125 questions
Time allowed3 hours
Passing score70%
ProctoringApproved proctor required
DeliveryExamFlex, online or print, with proctor
RetakesTwo retake purchases within one year of application approval
Scored vs. unscored splitNot publicly disclosed
Item formatNot specified by the current product

A few implications follow directly from these numbers. At 125 questions in 180 minutes, you have roughly 1.4 minutes per question on average. That is a comfortable pace for recall items but a tight one for scenario-based questions that ask you to interpret pricing, demand, or channel data. Because the scored/unscored split is not disclosed, you cannot assume that all 125 items count toward your result, and you should not try to reverse-engineer the exact number of correct answers needed. The practical target is simple: consistently perform well above 70% in practice before you sit for the real exam.

For a deeper treatment of how the cut score works in practice, see our guide to the CHRM passing score.

Why a Pass Rate Is Hard to Interpret Even If It Existed

Even if AHLEI published a figure tomorrow, a raw pass rate would be a weak predictor of your outcome. Three structural features of the CHRM make that so.

Self-selected, experience-screened candidates

People do not casually take a revenue-management certification. Candidates have already invested in the application, passed an eligibility review, and typically work in the function. A pass rate computed on that population tells you about experienced practitioners, not about the general public, which makes comparisons with open-enrollment exams misleading.

Variable preparation pathways

The bundled price includes an online study guide, and the issuer describes approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material. That figure describes study time, not exam duration and not a universal mandatory training minimum. Some candidates work through all of it; others skim it and rely on job experience. A blended pass rate would average very different preparation levels together.

Undisclosed scoring detail

Without the scored/unscored split or a published blueprint with domain weights, outsiders cannot model difficulty from the outside. The seven competency headings are issuer-published, but they are not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, and no formal blueprint revision date has been released.

Key Takeaway

Treat the absence of a pass rate as a reason to measure yourself directly: take timed, domain-by-domain practice and aim to clear 70% with margin in every one of the seven competencies, not just on your overall average.

For a candid look at perceived difficulty beyond the statistics, read how hard the CHRM exam really is.

Who Sits the Exam: The Eligibility Filter

Because the exam is gated by an application, the candidate pool is pre-screened. Under the current global issuer eligibility, a candidate needs:

  • A qualifying role managing or supervising reservations, with at least 50% of duties in property or corporate revenue management; and
  • Six months in that position.

There are two published ways that time requirement can shrink. A Supervisor, Manager, Department Head, or Executive Certification eliminates the time requirement, and an accredited academic degree eliminates the six months. Importantly, these reductions do not waive the qualifying-duties requirement or application approval. You still need to demonstrate that your actual work is revenue-focused and have your application approved.

No universal degree, training-hour, experience-hour, or reference-count requirement has been verified for the current program. If you want the full breakdown of who qualifies, our CHRM requirements guide walks through eligibility step by step.

Why This Matters for Pass Rates: Every person who reaches the exam room has already convinced the issuer that revenue management is a core part of their job. That built-in screen is a major reason you should be wary of comparing CHRM outcomes to exams with open registration.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points

No domain-level performance data is published, so any claim about "the hardest domain" is informed judgment rather than reported fact. That said, the seven current issuer competencies are not equally intuitive for every professional, and your background shapes where you are exposed. The competencies are Managing Front Office Operations, Revenue Management, Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations, Hospitality Sales and Marketing, e-Commerce, Forecasting for Revenue Managers, and Optimal Channel Mix. Note that older five-topic and regional six-topic descriptions are incomplete; the current scope has all seven, including Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations. Our complete guide to all seven CHRM exam domains goes deeper on each.

Domain 6: Forecasting for Revenue Managers

Often the most quantitative area for candidates who came up through operations rather than analytics.

  • Reading demand patterns and translating them into forward-looking projections
  • Understanding how forecast accuracy affects pricing and inventory decisions
  • Interpreting pace and booking-window behavior

Domain 7: Optimal Channel Mix

Strong on-property experience does not automatically translate to distribution strategy.

  • Balancing direct, third-party, and group channels against net revenue, not just volume
  • Evaluating channel cost and contribution
  • Recognizing how distribution decisions interact with rate integrity

Domain 5: e-Commerce

Candidates from traditional front-office backgrounds may find digital topics less familiar.

  • How online booking behavior influences pricing and conversion
  • The role of the website and booking engine in a revenue strategy
  • Digital marketing concepts as they connect to demand generation

Domain 1: Managing Front Office Operations

Typically familiar to hotel veterans, but still a place to lose easy points if you skim it.

  • Reservations, rooming, and front-desk processes as they affect inventory
  • Operational decisions that feed revenue outcomes

The pattern worth noticing: operations-heavy professionals tend to be comfortable in Domains 1 and 3 and may need more deliberate work in forecasting, e-commerce, and channel mix. Candidates from sales or analytics backgrounds often have the reverse profile. Diagnose which profile you are before you build a plan.

Retake Policy and What It Signals

The current global issuer product permits two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is not verified in the reviewed sources, so confirm it with the issuer before you budget for a second attempt.

What does the retake structure tell you? Two things. First, the issuer anticipates that some candidates will need more than one attempt, which is a normal feature of a professional certification. Second, the one-year window keeps the clock running from application approval, so a failed first attempt followed by an unhurried study pause can burn through your allowance. If you do need a retake, plan it promptly and use your score feedback to target the domains where you were weakest.

Details such as calculator use, spreadsheet access, open-book rules, scratch paper, and remote-proctor procedures are not verified in the reviewed material. Because a proctor is required, confirm the precise rules for your delivery mode directly with the issuer before test day rather than assuming anything.

Cost, Stakes, and Renewal

Pass-rate anxiety is partly about money. The current official bundle, which combines the application, online study guide, and exam, is USD $398. The member versus non-member split and any exam-only price are undisclosed, so if you only need the exam component, check with the issuer rather than assuming a lower figure. See our CHRM certification cost breakdown for how these pieces fit together.

Passing is not the end of the commitment. The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle with professional development. The current official renewal fee is USD $102, and issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter. Those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, and detailed evidence rules follow the current issuer program, so verify what counts before you start collecting activities.

Financial ItemPublished Figure
Application + online study guide + exam bundleUSD $398
Renewal fee (every five years)USD $102
Recertification requirement50 points per five-year cycle
Retake feeUnverified; confirm with issuer
Exam-only price / member splitUndisclosed

Whether those costs pay off depends on your career goals. Our analyses of the CHRM's return on investment and the CHRM salary picture are useful when weighing the stakes of a first-attempt failure.

A Domain-Sequenced Readiness Plan

Rather than a generic study calendar, sequence your preparation around the seven competencies and your own gaps. The issuer describes roughly 40 hours of self-paced review material, which gives you a sensible spine; stretch your timeline if you are new to revenue concepts. This sample sequence assumes an operations-leaning candidate.

Week 1

Foundations: Domains 1 and 2

  • Skim Managing Front Office Operations to lock in easy points
  • Study core Revenue Management concepts in depth, since they anchor everything else
Week 2

Quantitative Core: Domain 6

  • Spend extra time on Forecasting for Revenue Managers while you are fresh
  • Take a timed forecasting-focused practice set and review every miss
Week 3

Distribution and Digital: Domains 5 and 7

  • Work through e-Commerce and Optimal Channel Mix together, since they interact
  • Practice scenarios that weigh channel cost against net revenue
Week 4

Integration: Domains 3 and 4, then full simulation

  • Cover Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations and Hospitality Sales and Marketing
  • Finish with a full 125-question, three-hour timed run and score each domain separately

Our CHRM study guide expands on resources and pacing, and the CHRM cheat sheet is a handy final-week review. When you are ready to measure yourself, use the timed practice questions on our CHRM practice test site and track whether every domain, not just your total, clears 70% with room to spare.

Your Personal Pass Indicator: Since no public pass rate exists, build your own. If you can complete a full timed practice exam at a comfortable margin above 70% and no single domain falls near the line, you are in a strong position. If one domain lags, fix it before booking, especially given the limited retake window.

Scheduling matters too: coordinate your application approval, proctor availability, and delivery mode early. For timing details, see CHRM exam dates and scheduling, and for career context after you pass, browse CHRM jobs.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CHRM pass rate?

There is no publicly disclosed observed pass rate for the Certified Hospitality Revenue Manager exam. The issuer's reviewed product pages publish the passing score (70%) but not how many candidates pass. Be cautious of any site quoting a specific percentage without citing AHLEI.

What score do I need to pass the CHRM exam?

The current global issuer product specifies a 70% passing score on a 125-question, three-hour exam with a required proctor. The scored versus unscored question split is not publicly disclosed, so aim to exceed 70% comfortably in practice.

How many times can I retake the CHRM exam?

The current global issuer product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is not verified in the reviewed sources, so confirm the current price with the issuer.

Is the CHRM exam hard to pass?

Difficulty depends on your background. Candidates are pre-screened by eligibility requirements, and the seven competencies range from operations to forecasting and channel strategy. Most people find one or two domains outside their daily work, so targeted preparation in those areas is the key to passing.

Does the 40 hours of study material mean I must complete 40 training hours?

No. The approximately 40 hours refers to the self-paced review material included with the study guide. It describes study time, not exam length and not a universal mandatory training minimum.

Ready to pass your CHRM exam?

Put this into practice with free CHRM questions across every exam domain.