CHRM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHRM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • CHRM is delivered through AHLEI's ExamFlex with an approved proctor, so your date depends on your application and proctor, not a published test window.
  • The current official bundle is USD $398 and includes the application, online study guide and exam.
  • The exam is 125 questions in 3 hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
  • You get two retake purchases within one year of application approval; the retake fee is unverified.

Why the CHRM Has No Fixed Test Calendar

Searching for "CHRM exam dates 2026" usually turns up a calendar mindset borrowed from other credentials: a spring window, a fall window, a registration deadline, a late-fee cutoff. The Certified Hospitality Revenue Manager credential does not appear to work that way based on the reviewed public issuer sources. AHLEI administers this AHLA-endorsed certification through ExamFlex, an online/print delivery model paired with an approved proctor. No fixed testing-window calendar was verified for the current global product, and no external testing vendor was verified either.

That distinction matters for how you plan. With a window-based exam, the calendar drives everything: you work backward from a fixed date. With the CHRM, you control the pace. You purchase the bundle, receive application approval, study, and then schedule your sitting with a proctor. Your real "deadlines" are the ones you set yourself, plus a handful of issuer-defined clocks tied to application approval, retakes and renewal.

Verify before you commit: Public product pages describe the structure of the program, but they do not publish a dated session schedule. Before you pay, confirm current availability, proctor requirements and any scheduling instructions directly in the issuer's current product listing and your application confirmation. Treat anything not stated there as unverified.

If you want the broader picture of what the credential covers before you plan around it, start with What Is CHRM Certification? and the overview at CHRM Certification.

How ExamFlex Delivery Shapes Your Scheduling

ExamFlex is the delivery model named for this product. The practical implication is flexibility, but flexibility with one hard dependency: a required proctor. You are not simply clicking an open seat at a testing center on a given Tuesday. You are coordinating an exam sitting that must be supervised by an approved proctor.

What is verified about delivery

  • The program is administered by AHLEI as an AHLA-endorsed certification.
  • Delivery is online/print through ExamFlex with an approved proctor.
  • The current global product specifies 125 questions, 3 hours and a 70% passing score.
  • A proctor is required for the exam.

What is not verified

  • Detailed remote-proctor rules, including technology checks and room requirements.
  • Whether calculators, spreadsheets, open-book materials or scratch paper are permitted.
  • The current item format (older multiple-choice descriptions are not treated as current verification).

Because the allowed-materials rules are unverified, do not assume anything about bringing a calculator to a forecasting-heavy exam. Ask in writing before exam day. The seven domains include Forecasting for Revenue Managers and Revenue Management, both of which involve numerical reasoning, so knowing whether you may use a calculator or scratch paper affects how you practice.

Eligibility Comes Before Any Date

You cannot schedule anything until your application is approved, and approval depends on eligibility. This is the first real gate on your timeline. The current global issuer eligibility requires:

  • A qualifying role managing or supervising reservations, with at least 50% of duties in property or corporate revenue management; and
  • Six months in that position.

Two reductions exist. A Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification eliminates the time requirement. An accredited academic degree eliminates the six-month requirement. Critically, these time reductions do not waive the qualifying-duties requirement or the application approval step. A degree might shorten your wait, but it will not turn a role with only incidental revenue duties into a qualifying one.

Where candidates lose time: The most common planning mistake is booking study time around a target date before confirming the role qualifies. If your job title says "front desk supervisor" but less than half your duties involve revenue management, confirm eligibility first. No universal degree, training-hour, experience-hour or reference-count requirement was verified, so those are not the hurdles to worry about. The duty-percentage test is.

For a full walkthrough of qualifying roles and documentation, see CHRM Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. Doing this check on day one saves you from paying for a bundle you cannot yet use.

Bundle Pricing, Retakes and Renewal Timing

Money and time are linked here, because the clocks that matter run from your application approval. The current official application/online-study-guide/exam bundle is USD $398. The member/non-member split and any exam-only price are not publicly disclosed, so budget around the bundle figure rather than assuming a discount. For the full cost picture, including what is and is not confirmed, see CHRM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

ItemCurrent verified status
Application + online study guide + exam bundleUSD $398
Member vs. non-member pricingNot publicly disclosed
Exam-only priceNot publicly disclosed
Retake purchasesTwo allowed within one year of application approval
Retake feeUnverified
Renewal fee (every five years)USD $102
Recertification requirement50 points within five years

The one-year retake clock

The most important date-related rule in the reviewed material is this: the current global product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. That one-year window is the closest thing to a hard deadline in the program. It means your approval date, not a calendar season, starts the clock on how much margin you have if a first attempt does not go your way.

This changes how you should think about timing. If you sit the exam in month eleven after approval and do not pass, you may have little time left to use both retake purchases. Sitting earlier in the year-long window leaves room to regroup. Because the retake fee itself is unverified, check the cost before you assume a retake is cheap.

Key Takeaway

Do not spend your whole one-year window on preparation. Schedule your first attempt early enough that two retake purchases remain usable, and confirm the retake fee before you rely on it as a safety net.

What You Are Scheduling: 125 Questions in 3 Hours

Picking a date well requires knowing what the sitting demands. The current global CHRM product specifies 125 questions, a three-hour exam, a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Doing the arithmetic, that is a little under a minute and a half per question on average, which is a steady pace rather than a sprint. Block a full, uninterrupted half day so you are not rushing the final stretch.

Several details are intentionally not specified for this product, and you should not fill the gaps with assumptions:

  • Item format: not specified by the current product.
  • Scored vs. unscored split: not publicly disclosed.
  • Observed pass rate: not publicly disclosed.

For a plain-language look at what the 70% threshold means in practice, read CHRM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. For what can and cannot be said about outcomes, see CHRM Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, which explains why no pass-rate figure should be quoted as fact.

About the 40 hours: You may see approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material mentioned in connection with the program. That figure describes the study material, not the exam duration and not a universal mandatory training minimum. The exam itself is three hours. Do not confuse the two when blocking your calendar.

Choosing a Date by Working Backward Through the Seven Domains

This is the one section where I will lean on a study schedule, and I will tie it to the CHRM's content rather than generic habits. The seven current competencies are not an official weighted blueprint, since percentages, scored-question allocations and a blueprint revision date remain unpublished. So sequence them by dependency, not by assumed weight. The full breakdown lives in CHRM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

Weeks 1-2

Operational foundations

  • Managing Front Office Operations: reservations flow, room inventory and the daily mechanics that revenue decisions sit on.
  • Revenue Management: core concepts and terminology you will reuse in every later domain.
Weeks 3-4

Numbers and demand

  • Forecasting for Revenue Managers: build comfort with demand projection before layering on pricing strategy.
  • Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations: apply revenue thinking across departments, not just rooms.
Weeks 5-6

Demand generation and distribution

  • Hospitality Sales and Marketing: how group, corporate and leisure demand is generated.
  • e-Commerce: online presence and booking behavior.
  • Optimal Channel Mix: balance direct and third-party distribution against cost and control.
Final week

Integration and timing

  • Full practice runs of 125 questions in 3 hours to rehearse pacing.
  • Revisit your weakest domain and confirm proctor logistics.

Why this order? Forecasting and revenue management underpin the channel and e-commerce decisions, so learning them first makes later domains easier to reason about. Optimal Channel Mix, in particular, rewards candidates who already understand forecasting and demand. Treat this as a six-week example, then stretch or compress it to fit your own date. For deeper preparation, see CHRM Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Why Domain 3 deserves its own slot

Some older summaries describe a five-topic or six-topic outline. For the reviewed scope, use all seven current competencies, including Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations. If a third-party resource omits it, treat that resource as incomplete.

  • Plan a dedicated study block for it rather than folding it into general revenue management.
  • Expect it to connect operational decisions to total revenue, not only room revenue.

If you are weighing how demanding this will be before you pick a date, How Hard Is the CHRM Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers what makes the content challenging. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, the CHRM practice test is a good checkpoint before you commit to a sitting.

Lining Up Your Proctor

The proctor requirement is where scheduling gets personal. Unlike a seat at a public testing center, a proctor-dependent exam means your date depends on someone else's availability and approval. Detailed remote-proctor rules were not verified in the reviewed sources, so rely on your application confirmation and the issuer's current instructions for specifics.

  • Start early: Identify a proctor before you finish studying, not after. Their availability may be the real constraint on your date.
  • Confirm eligibility to proctor: The exam requires an approved proctor, so verify that your chosen person or arrangement meets the issuer's current requirements before relying on it.
  • Ask about materials in advance: Calculator, spreadsheet, open-book and scratch-paper rules are unverified, so get the answers in writing.
  • Have a backup date: If your proctor's availability shifts, you still want slack inside your one-year retake window.
Practical tip for hotel employees: If you work for a property or company that already supports certification, ask whether an internal arrangement can supply an approved proctor. Do not assume any particular person qualifies. Confirm it against the issuer's current guidance first.

The Five-Year Renewal Clock

Exam "dates" do not end when you pass. The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle. Current issuer renewal guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. The current official renewal fee is USD $102.

Two cautions apply. First, recertification points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so do not assume that an hour of continuing education equals a point. Second, detailed evidence rules must follow the current issuer program, so check what documentation is accepted before you start collecting activities. Build your professional-development log from the day you certify rather than scrambling in year five.

Thinking about what the credential does for your career over that horizon? Is the CHRM Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CHRM Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis weigh the long-term payoff, and CHRM Jobs looks at the roles where the credential is relevant.

Sample Planning Scenarios

Because there is no fixed window, your timeline is built from the approval date. The scenarios below are illustrative planning frames, not issuer-published schedules.

ScenarioApproachRetake margin
Experienced revenue managerConfirm eligibility, buy the bundle, skim familiar domains, sit the exam within the first couple of months after approvalLarge: most of the one-year window remains
Newer to revenue managementWork through the online study guide across a longer period, focusing on forecasting and channel mix, then sit mid-windowModerate: leaves room for a retake if needed
ProcrastinatorDelays booking until near the end of the year after approvalMinimal: risks losing usable retake purchases

The pattern is consistent: the earlier you attempt within your approval window, the more cushion you keep. A later date feels safer because you studied longer, but it quietly consumes the retake runway you may need.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CHRM exam dates or testing windows in 2026?

The reviewed public sources describe ExamFlex online/print delivery with an approved proctor and do not publish a fixed testing-window calendar. Your sitting is arranged after application approval, so confirm current scheduling instructions with the issuer rather than assuming set windows.

How long do I have to retake the exam if I do not pass?

The current global product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is unverified, so check the current price before planning around it. Your approval date starts the one-year clock.

How long is the exam and what score do I need?

The current global CHRM product specifies 125 questions in three hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. The item format and scored/unscored split are not specified for this product.

Can I take the exam before I meet the experience requirement?

No. Eligibility requires a qualifying role with at least 50% of duties in revenue management and six months in position, though a Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification removes the time requirement and an accredited degree removes the six months. Neither waives qualifying duties or application approval.

When do I need to renew after certifying?

Renewal is on a five-year cycle requiring 50 recertification points, with a current official fee of USD $102. Points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, and detailed evidence rules follow the current issuer program.

For a compact refresher once you have a date locked in, keep the CHRM Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy, and the dedicated page at CHRM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling is the place to check back for updates as the program evolves. When you are ready to benchmark yourself, take a full-length run on the CHRM Exam Prep practice site.

Ready to pass your CHRM exam?

Put this into practice with free CHRM questions across every exam domain.