CHRM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHRM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The current official CHRM bundle (application, online study guide and exam) is listed at USD $398.
  • Renewal every five years currently costs USD $102 and requires 50 recertification points.
  • Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval; the retake fee is unverified.
  • A proctor is required; the issuer's proctor rules and any proctor charges should be confirmed before you apply.

The $398 Bundle: What You Actually Buy

The Certified Hospitality Revenue Manager (CHRM) credential is administered by AHLEI and endorsed by AHLA. The most reliable number for budgeting in 2026 is the one on the official product page: USD $398 for the application, online study guide and exam bundle, delivered through ExamFlex. That is a single purchase that covers three things, and understanding each piece helps you judge whether the price is reasonable for your situation.

  • The application: Your eligibility is reviewed as part of the process. Approval is a gate, not a formality, which matters for the retake window described below.
  • The online study guide: The issuer describes approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material. That figure describes study time, not exam length and not a mandatory training minimum.
  • The exam: A 125-question, three-hour test with a 70% passing score, taken with an approved proctor.

Because the study guide is bundled, many candidates will not need a separate prep purchase just to get started. Candidates who want extra drilling can supplement with practice questions on the CHRM practice test site, but nothing in the official bundle requires outside materials. If you are still deciding whether this credential is the right investment, the CHRM ROI analysis walks through the value side of the equation.

Budgeting Rule of Thumb: Anchor your plan to the verified $398 figure and add a contingency line for anything the issuer has not published, such as retake fees and proctor charges. Check the current product page on the day you buy, since pricing can change.

What the Issuer Doesn't Publish (Yet)

A trustworthy cost guide has to say what is unknown. For the current global CHRM product, several price details are not publicly disclosed or could not be verified:

  • Member versus non-member split: The reviewed product shows one bundle price. Whether a membership discount exists is not confirmed.
  • Exam-only price: If you already have study materials, an exam-only purchase may or may not be offered. It is not verified.
  • Retake fee: The product allows two retake purchases, but the current fee remains unverified.
  • Proctor fees: The required proctor is a real-world logistics item. Whether a charge applies depends on who you use and how the issuer's rules treat them.

Rather than guess at these numbers, treat them as questions to resolve before you pay. Our guide to CHRM exam dates, windows and deadlines covers the scheduling side, and it pairs naturally with the cost questions here because the proctor you choose affects both timing and budget.

Eligibility Is a Cost Factor Too

Paying $398 for a bundle you are not eligible to use is the most expensive mistake in this process. The current global eligibility standard requires a qualifying role managing or supervising reservations, with at least 50% of duties in property or corporate revenue management, plus six months in that position.

Two adjustments can shorten the time requirement:

  • A Supervisor, Manager, Department Head or Executive Certification eliminates the time requirement.
  • An accredited academic degree eliminates the six-month requirement.

Neither adjustment waives the qualifying-duties requirement or the application approval step. No universal degree, training-hour, experience-hour or reference-count requirement has been verified. In practical terms: if your job is mostly front desk work with only occasional rate decisions, confirm that your duties qualify before buying. Our CHRM requirements and eligibility guide breaks down how to document your role.

Key Takeaway

Confirm eligibility before checkout. The qualifying-duties test (at least 50% of your duties in property or corporate revenue management) is not waived by a degree or a supervisory certification, so a mismatch can cost you the full bundle price in wasted time.

Retake Purchases and Your Risk Budget

The current global product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. This is more flexible than a single-shot exam, but the clock matters: the one-year window starts at approval, not at your first exam attempt. If you take months to begin studying after approval, you shrink the time available for a second or third try.

Because the retake fee is unverified, build your budget in two scenarios:

  1. Pass on the first attempt: Your direct cost is the $398 bundle (plus any proctor-related charge).
  2. Retake needed: Add the current retake fee, once confirmed with the issuer, for each additional attempt.

The best way to avoid retake spending is to understand how the exam is built and how hard it runs. Neither the scored/unscored split nor an observed pass rate is publicly disclosed, so be skeptical of any site that quotes a precise pass percentage; see our write-up on what the CHRM pass rate data does and doesn't show. For a realistic sense of difficulty, read how hard the CHRM exam is.

Proctor and Delivery Considerations

The exam is delivered through ExamFlex in online or print form with an approved proctor. No external testing vendor has been verified, which means there is no separate test-center seat fee to plan around in the way other certifications require. What you do need is a proctor who satisfies the issuer's requirements.

Several details are unverified and should be confirmed during the application process:

  • Whether calculators, spreadsheets, open-book materials or scratch paper are allowed.
  • The detailed remote-proctor rules, if you plan to test online.
  • Whether your chosen proctor charges a fee.

The calculator question is not trivial for a revenue management exam, since topics like forecasting and revenue metrics involve arithmetic. Until the issuer confirms the rules, practice working through calculations by hand and with a plain calculator so you are not caught off guard. Our CHRM passing score guide explains how the 70% threshold applies across 125 questions in three hours.

The Five-Year Cost: Renewal at $102

The true cost of the CHRM spans more than exam day. The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle, with a current official renewal fee of USD $102. Renewal requires 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter.

Two cautions about those points:

  • They are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours. Do not assume that a training course measured in CEUs converts one-to-one.
  • Detailed evidence rules must follow the current issuer program, so keep documentation for anything you plan to claim.

Over a five-year horizon, a simple cost model looks like this: the $398 initial bundle plus the $102 renewal, plus whatever professional development you pursue to earn points. Many hospitality professionals already attend conferences and webinars as part of their jobs, so earning points may cost little extra, but confirm which activities the issuer accepts before you pay for a specific event.

Start a Points Folder on Day One: Because points are not automatically equal to CEU hours and evidence rules are issuer-specific, save certificates, agendas and completion records as you earn them. Renewal season is a poor time to discover a gap.

Spending Study Time and Money Wisely

The bundle's study guide gives you the base material, and the exam covers seven issuer-published competencies. Note that these seven headings are current competencies, not an official weighted blueprint; percentages, scored-question allocations and a blueprint revision date are unpublished. That means you cannot reliably allocate study hours by percentage, so allocate by difficulty and personal gaps.

Where Candidates Often Need Extra Time

The seven competencies are Managing Front Office Operations, Revenue Management, Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations, Hospitality Sales and Marketing, e-Commerce, Forecasting for Revenue Managers, and Optimal Channel Mix.

  • Forecasting for Revenue Managers: Quantitative and unfamiliar to candidates from purely operational backgrounds.
  • Optimal Channel Mix: Requires comfort with distribution costs, channel profitability and trade-offs.
  • Revenue Management: The core of the credential; budget the most time here.

One short scheduling idea tied to the credential itself: front-load the quantitative domains (Forecasting and Revenue Management) in your first study weeks, when your energy is highest, and use later weeks for Sales and Marketing, e-Commerce and Front Office Operations, which many working hoteliers already know from daily practice. Finish with Optimal Channel Mix and Maximizing Revenue in Hospitality Operations, since those tie the other domains together. For a full breakdown of each content area, see the CHRM exam domains guide, and for a structured plan, the CHRM study guide for passing on the first attempt.

Spending a little on extra practice can pay for itself if it prevents a retake. A realistic option is to use the official materials for content and a tool like the CHRM practice tests to find weak spots before you sit the real exam. For last-minute review, the CHRM cheat sheet condenses the key facts.

Cost Summary Table

Cost ItemCurrent StatusNotes
Application + online study guide + exam bundleUSD $398 (official)Delivered via ExamFlex with an approved proctor
Member / non-member pricing splitUndisclosedConfirm on the product page before purchase
Exam-only priceUndisclosedNot verified for the current global product
Retake purchasesTwo allowed within one year of approvalCurrent retake fee unverified
ProctorRequiredFee, if any, and detailed rules unverified
Renewal (every five years)USD $102 (official)Requires 50 recertification points

Getting Your Employer to Pay

At $398 for the bundle and $102 at renewal, the CHRM is a modest line item compared with many professional credentials, which makes it an easy request for many employers. The strongest case focuses on business outcomes rather than personal benefit: revenue managers influence rate strategy, forecasting accuracy and distribution decisions, all of which tie directly to property revenue.

Practical steps for making the ask:

  1. Show the total cost: the $398 bundle plus the $102 renewal over five years.
  2. Connect the seven competency areas to problems your property faces, such as channel mix, forecasting accuracy or direct booking performance.
  3. Propose a reimbursement structure, such as payment on passing.
  4. Point to career benefits using our CHRM salary guide and CHRM jobs overview to show how the credential fits hiring needs.

If you are earlier in your exploration, our explainers on what the CHRM certification is and CHRM training options give useful context for a manager who is unfamiliar with the credential.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CHRM certification cost in 2026?

The current official application, online study guide and exam bundle is listed at USD $398. Member versus non-member pricing and an exam-only price are not publicly disclosed, so confirm details on the issuer's product page before purchasing.

What does the $398 bundle include?

It covers the application, the online study guide (approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material) and the exam, delivered through ExamFlex with an approved proctor. The 40 hours describes study time, not exam length or a mandatory training minimum.

How many times can I retake the CHRM exam, and what does it cost?

The current global product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The current retake fee remains unverified, so check with the issuer before budgeting for a second attempt.

What does CHRM renewal cost?

The current official renewal fee is USD $102 on a five-year cycle. Renewal requires 50 recertification points within five years, and these points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours.

Can I buy only the exam without the study guide?

An exam-only price is undisclosed for the current product, so it is not verified that this option exists. The bundle is the verified purchase path. Check the product page or contact the issuer for current options.

For a deeper look at the total investment picture, our companion CHRM certification cost breakdown and the overview of the CHRM certification are good next reads as you finalize your plan.

Ready to pass your CHRM exam?

Put this into practice with free CHRM questions across every exam domain.